Spa or Safeway

I had the opportunity to go shopping by myself for the first time in a long time. My sweetie usually does this chore for our family but I had the time and took the opportunity to be helpful.

In the line up with my overflowing basket of food items I picked up a Shape magazine to browse. In doing so I lost control of my basket and out tumbled the yogurt which splattered on the ground and all over the lady in front of me. She had on some pretty nice looking dress pants and I was certain she would not be able to relate as I mumbled something about not even having my kids to blame. She was right on top of that and we had a laugh about how clumsy we can get when we are not lining up children and coordinating and focused in the moment. She was a mom too and was gracious even though the back of her pants were splattered top to bottom.

It was slow in Safeway and the clerk came over right away to clean up and get me another yogurt. The manager also came over with a mop and got down on his hands and knees, wiped the mess clean and then mopped.

I went from being frustrated and embarrassed to feeling honored and very well taken care of. I think maybe I will do this kind of thing more often. It was almost as good as a spa to have somebody else cleaning up after me!

~ by Nicole on October 17, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
