An Amazing Man – JOY and Balance

I am a typical wife and we have a typical relationship. As with most people I know, having children has brought us together in so many ways all the while it ripples us apart. In the end is love and a similar goal – raise these kids with as much love as we can muster.

Mine is an amazing man with so much love and energy for his children. Mine is also an amazing man in that he works hard to support this family. If you know this kind of man – it can be a double-edged sword. Things can get pretty out of balanced as they have been for most of the past 10 years. Between having babies and starting our own business the working hard part takes over all too often. Must figure out a better way and a better balance but we are working on it and I am proud and pleased that I did not marry a lazy man. I married a hard-working man who when he remembers to play is also the most playful and fun man I have ever known. This is usually a good thing – except maybe late last night when I was done and he was still wrestling with the boys………….but I will take it.

This past weekend has been amazing! My sweetness finished a project that thrust him in to some crazy hours including no weekends off for 8 weeks. Out of balance? You think? The good news is he took 4 days off and denied his usual work ethic and particularism and he chose to let go and have fun with his boys. Days off with no chores and no business talk.

He took the fellas on a long bike ride into the downtown core yesterday. They looked at the river and the pretty girls. The pretty girls looked back…..you think? They even went to a pub that allowed minors untill 3pm.

When he came home he was filled with an energy that I forgot he had. Pure Joy! One of my boys remarked “Papa is so happy……….I can not believe it………I am so excited………….”. His little hands were fidgeting and he was energized by the positive vibe. My sweetness was able to see this and I think his eyes might be more open to the importance of balance.

So they are off again today and I am delighted to have the house to myself. Wish for us Balance. I think it does get easier as the kids get older. For those of you not quite there yet, HANG ON! It will come.

~ by Nicole on April 29, 2012.

2 Responses to “An Amazing Man – JOY and Balance”

  1. Yes, I,agree it does get easier as they get older. I miss having little bitties, but in some ways, I feel like we are just getting into our groove as parenting partners. And yes, life with a man is a double edge sword. : )

Leave a Reply

 
