I read this today and I just love it so much! I have not adopted and I do not have special needs children and so I hope I am not disrespecting that scenerio. I just love the emotion in this writing and I love how she touches on the RAW feelings we all experience as mothers. Never the same again………..indeed.

Hike. Blog. Love.

{a letter to my pre-mommy self….advice for the journey that lies ahead}

Dear Me,

Believe it or not, over the course of the next three years you will become a mother to two four-year old boys, each from a unique and difficult past. You will spend countless nights singing nursery rhymes, reading Good Night Moon and witnessing the excruciating repercussions of institutionalization. You will spend countless nights holding children who do not want to be held and you will do everything in your power to stifle the self soothing behaviors that dominate your children’s nights. Your attempts will feel like they are in vain. You will witness children hoarding food and displaying signs of attachment disorders. It will scare the heck out of you. You will learn that some trauma cannot be undone and that healing is measured in years, not months. You will cry more tears than you…

View original post 564 more words

~ by Nicole on May 9, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
