Hot Dogs – Cow Tongues

Grilled hot dogs

My sweet six-year-old says to me the other day, “Mom did you know that hot dogs are made of rolled up cow tongues?”

I had to think about that for a moment.  I was going to respond that it is actually lips and A holes which is what I was always told but I held that back and instead opted to explain that hot dogs are made of the less desirable parts on the animal.

Or maybe its true?  Rolled up cow tongues does sound about right doesn’t it?

~ by Nicole on July 12, 2012.

2 Responses to “Hot Dogs – Cow Tongues”

  1. When I worked in the meat industry, I think hotdogs only had to be 20% actual meat. I am sure tongue would be in there somewhere 😉

Leave a Reply

 
