Check this post if you have late readers. It is from my blog before I merged all of my parenting and homeschooling writing into Fish Tank Mom. You might want to read my next post too as it is the only reason I dug this up.

The Cows Came Calling

I honestly believe it is the kids who are pushed in school and labeled early on that end up with the illiteracy for life.  I believe it is the focus on our child’s perceived lack that causes the self-esteem issues that reduce receptiveness to learning.  That about summarizes this post but if you would like to read the long version please read on.

I am not one of those homeschoolering moms that can boast about my high academic students.  You know the ones – they make homeschooling okay to nay sayers and they are easily able to smile and marvel at how naturally their children learned to read – and usually early.

As I say – that is not us.  I have boys in the truest of form and the oldest two are late readers.  In that late reading world is much fear and questioning.  It is easy to get down and…

View original post 1,136 more words

~ by Nicole on November 27, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
