Thanks You Little Bugger

One of my boys is sneaky, emotional, passionate, wildly creative, an excellent “story-teller” (aka fibbing) and his imagination can be a creative monster at times.  In that he is astutely aware of details including where he noticed you might have hidden the chocolates because he is going to sneak them later.  He is so acutely aware of details that even though he knows he can get away with just about anything he does cover his tracks pretty good – he thinks perhaps you might be watching the way he does.  Things will go missing like the Nutella container and we will all blame the dog but later we will discover a sticky spoon with Nutella residues behind the door, under the bed or behind the couch.  He goes to great lengths and will sneak a treat, stash it and go back to it when the coast is clear.

Deutsch: Ein Glas Nutella-Nussnougatcreme

Deutsch: Ein Glas Nutella-Nussnougatcreme (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

As with everything this attention to detail comes in handy sometimes.  He is the first one to ask when legitimate things go missing and he can find them because he remembers where he saw them last.  Today I was heading out to walk the dog.  I put her in the van started it and then went in the house to grab a couple of things.  When I went back to the van I almost snapped – the van was running, the dog was in and the doors were locked.  Only 2 days earlier I had to call a AMA to jump-start my battery after I had all kids in loaded for snowboarding and realized my battery was dead for having left lights on.  I calmed myself down and went in the house to announce the news to the boys, “The dogs in the van, the van is running and the doors are locked – I’m calling AMA again.  Snort, Whine, Grumble, Curse.”  Like an angel singing my 9-year-old responded  “But mom we have two sets of keys.”  The van is new and I was pretty sure I only had one set of keys – I knew I hadn’t gotten keys cut and I could not remember getting a second set from the previous owner.  Sure as the sun will rise he walked right to where they were and handed them over.

Our children’s assets are absolutely the very things that will drive us crazy.  Thank you my little bugger – I love you!

~ by Nicole on November 29, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
