Racing Minds

My mind races ahead and I get too far forward, spinning and tripping over details of which I do not have control. I hear the call from the living room, “mom I am hungry”. Okay this is a now thing, I can deal with this and so I call back, “yes, lunch…lunch is coming”.

My mind races ahead and I get too far forward, spinning and tripping over details of which I have no control. I hear the call from the living room, “mom, when are we going to do guitar lessons”. Okay this is a now thing but not as much of a now thing as the lunch comment from earlier. I am not sure when, and I am not sure if now makes sense but probably. Probably a couple of lessons with that great teacher we know before we leave. So I call back, “yes, soon….I will make that happen for you, I promise”.

I find this one of the most challenging things about preparing and planning for such a big move. What can I do and should I do AND how do I keep up the daily routine of life while planning for such a big unknown. Every couple of days over periods of the day my mind races like this. I can always talk myself down but it’s for sure fear based thinking and not trusting.

You know that feeling when you are getting ready to jump off a cliff? You just jump and you are glad you did but if you think, consider, wonder and imagine all the worst case scenarios it gets harder. Technically I can not jump right now because although the decision has been made but we are waiting for specific obligations to wrap up and honestly I need the time for packing. So I am on the edge of that cliff and I get to choose how to think and it is harder than the edge of the cliff when you can just jump…..more time to let old habits in. Right? Imagine you are told to camp out on the edge of that cliff for 3 months before you jump? That is sort of how it feels.

I promise it is not like this for me always but today it is like this for me and actually writing about it really calms me down. I dug through some older writing and found this:

Safety Nets

I wrote this when I was dreaming this move up throughout 2013. Perhaps I should print this and put it on my fridge. What are some strategies you have used when you know your life is going to transform but you are still in preparation? How do you stay in the present moment?

~ by Nicole on January 16, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
